MET RESIDENCY

ETHEL and Friends is a music series specifically designed for the Museum’s Balcony Bar. ETHEL is one of the most acclaimed string quartets in the contemporary classical field. With an eye on tradition and an ear to the future, ETHEL is a leading force in concert music’s re-engagement with musical vernaculars, fusing diverse traditions into a vibrant sound. Expect familiar classical tunes mixed with a fair share of the group’s signature, cutting-edge repertoire. Guest artists and collaborators will also make periodic appearances. Relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizers while looking out over the majestic Great Hall.

All performances are from 5 PM – 8 PM.

NOVEMBER 2017

Friday, November 3 and Saturday, November 4
The G-Sharp Duo
Yelena Grinberg, piano
Emilie-Anne Gindron, violin
Works by Albéniz, Granados, Rodrigo and Piazzola

Friday, November 10 and Saturday, November 11
Adrianna Mateo and Accomplices
Adrianna Mateo, violin & loops
Charlie Rauh, guitar
Katherine Haroldson, cello
Hathaways
Works by Adrianna Mateo, Mitchell McCarthy and Hathaways

Friday, November 17 and Saturday, November 18
JP Jofre Hard Tango Chamber Band
JP Jofre, bandoneon
Rachel Lee Priday, violin
Amy Kang, cello
Chris Johnson, double bass
Works by Piazzola, Federico and Jofre

Friday, November 24 and Saturday, November 25
Loggins-Gookin Duo
Allison Loggins – Hull, flute
Amanda Gookin, cello
Works by Villa-Lobos, Balter and Joachim

DECEMBER 2017

Friday, December 1 and Saturday, December 2
JP Jofre Hard Tango Chamber Band
JP Jofre, bandoneon,
Hwi-Eun Kim, violin
Amy Kang, cello
Pablo Cafici, piano
Andrew Trombley, double bass
Works by Piazzola, Federico and Jofre

Friday, December 8 and Saturday, December 9
ETHEL
Ralph Farris, viola
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Kip Jones, violin
Corin Lee, violin
Works by Lawson, Childs, Jones, Lee and Farris

Friday, December 15 and Saturday, December 16
ETHEL
Ralph Farris, viola
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Kip Jones, violin
Corin Lee, violin
Works by Lee, Jones, Lawson, Farris and Kline

Friday, December 22 and Saturday, December 23
Class-sickle Trio
Got Pikayzen, violin
Arma Alpyspaev, viola
Adrian Daurov, cello
Works by Villa Lobos, Dohnányi and Fuchs

Friday, December 29 and Saturday, December 30
JP Jofre Hard Tango Chamber Band
JP Jofre, bandoneon,
Kristine Lee, violin
Elizabeth Fayette, violin
Chieh-Fan Yiu, viola
Wendy Law, cello
Works by Piazzola, Bach and Jofre