MET RESIDENCY

ETHEL and Friends is a music series specifically designed for the Museum’s Balcony Bar. ETHEL is one of the most acclaimed string quartets in the contemporary classical field. With an eye on tradition and an ear to the future, ETHEL is a leading force in concert music’s re-engagement with musical vernaculars, fusing diverse traditions into a vibrant sound. Expect familiar classical tunes mixed with a fair share of the group’s signature, cutting-edge repertoire. Guest artists and collaborators will also make periodic appearances. Relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizers while looking out over the majestic Great Hall.

All March and April performances are from 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM.

MARCH 2018

Friday, March 2 and Saturday, March 3
Trio CoRaDo
Ralph Farris*, viola
Dorothy Lawson*, cello
Corin Lee*, violin
Works by Ernő Dohnányi, Jacques Ibert, Beethoven, Bach

Friday, March 9 and Saturday, March 10
Sirius Quartet
Fung Chern Hwei, violin
Gregor Huebner, violin
Ron Lawrence, viola
Jeremy Harman, cello
John Escreet, piano
Works by Gregor Huebner, Jeremy Harman, Fung Chern Hwei, John Escreet

Friday, March 16 and Saturday, March 17
ETHEL
Ralph Farris, viola
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Corin Lee, violin
Kip Joes, violin
Works by Mary Ellen Childs, Mo Zhao, Philip Glass

Friday, March 23 and Saturday, March 24
JP Jofre’s Hard Tango Chamber Band
JP Jofre, bandoneon
Miho Hazama, piano
Ralph Farris*, viola & violin
Works by Piazzolla, JP Jofre, Oliver Messiaen

Friday, March 30 and Saturday, March 31
Raja & Ralph
Raja Rahman, piano
Ralph Farris*, viola & violin
Works by Franck, Prokofiev, Hindemith, Talbot, Glass

*Denotes members of ETHEL

APRIL 2018

Friday, April 6 and Saturday, April 7
ETHEL
Ralph Farris, viola
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Kip Jones, violin
Corin Lee, violin
Works by Morricone, Zarvos and Owens

Friday, April 13 and Saturday, April 14
JP Jofre’s Hard Tango Chamber Band
JP Jofre, bandoneon
Pablo Cafici, piano
Lucia Lin, violin
Works by Piazzolla, JP Jofre, Oliver Messiaen

Friday, April 20 and Saturday, April 21
ETHEL
Ralph Farris, viola
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Kip Jones, violin
Corin Lee, violin
Works by Janis Joplin, Phil Kline, Dan Friel

Friday, April 27 and Saturday, April 28
The Accent Trio
Alexandrina Boyanova, violin & viola
Gökçe Erem, violin
Issei Herr, cello
Works by Schubert, Ravel, Prokofiev, Piazzolla and Francaix